Madera County
University of California
Madera County

Serving Madera County

OFFICE HOURS

The UC Cooperative Extension Office Hours are 8:00am-5:00pm, Monday-Friday.  Closed 1:00-2:00pm for lunch.  Occasionally, there will be brief office closures for off-site meetings and events.  Please leave a brief reason for visiting on the sign-in sheet at the window during those visits.

Shannon Mueller, Ph.D., County Director Agronomic Crops Farm Advisor  (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7211 or (559) 241-7515 scmueller@ucanr.edu

Russell Hill, 4-H Advisor (559) 675-7204 rdhill@ucanr.edu

Laurie Fringer, 4-H Program Representative (559) 675-7879, Ext. 7202  llfringer@ucanr.edu

Scott Stoddard, Vegetable Crops & Limited Resource Farms Advisor (209) 385-7403  csstoddard@ucanr.edu  (UCCE-Merced Office)

Daniela Bruno, Dairy Advisor (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7211 dfbruno@ucanr.edu (Thursday only)

Rebecca Ozeran, Livestock & Natural Resources Farm Advisor (559) 675-7879, Ext. 7211 rkozeran@ucanr.edu

Phoebe Gordon, Orchard Systems Advisor (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7209 pegordon@ucanr.edu

Karl Lund, Viticulture Advisor (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7205  ktlund@ucanr.edu

UC CalFresh Nutrition Program, (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7207

Denise Cuendett, Master Gardener Coordinator, (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7202 (559) 241-7535 (Fresno) dhcuendett@ucanr.edu

Dr. Lynn M. Sosnoskie, Agronomy & Weed Science Advisor, (229) 326-2676  lmsosnoskie@ucanr.edu  (UCCE-Merced Office)

 

We apologize for any inconveniences that may arise.

Calendar

Event Name
Date
4/28/2019

Make a Gift Online

Madera County Programs

4-H Youth Development

Organizes, administers, directs and coordinates youth programs in cooperation with Madera County 4-H adult volunteer leaders. Programs are designed to meet the needs and interest of youth 9 to 19 years of age. Focus is on responsibility and leadership development.

Agronomic Crops

Provides extension education and research programs in alfalfa, cereal grains and corn. Provides weed identification and programs for efficient weed control.

Dairy 

Dairy productivity and product quality, as well as complex issues of animal health and welfare, waste management, and water quality.

Livestock and Natural Resources

Providing professional research and advice to support range livestock producers and rangeland managers.

Master Gardeners

Their mission is to extend research based knowledge and information on home horticulture, pest management, and sustainable landscape to the residents of Madera County. 

Pomology

Practical advice and problem solving for fruit and nut producers.

Vegetable Crops

Provides educational information to vegetable crop producers in Madera County. Conducts research programs in tomatoes, melons, garlic and other vegetables. Serves Madera and Merced Counties.

Viticulture

Disseminates research based information from University, industry and private research to growers, processors and packers of grapes and grape products. Provides diagnosis of permanent crop plant diseases.

ANR Blogs

Figure 1 Managing Diseases in Alfalfa after a Wet Year
It is both a blessing and a curse that alfalfa in California's Central Valley essentially grows all winter long.  Although we can get very high early yields, if conditions are too wet, the...

Figure 2 Producing Alfalfa in a Wet Year
There is little doubt that the heavy late rains we've seen in spring, 2019 in the northern part of California will reduce yields and quality for many alfalfa growers. How much depends upon soil type...

Glyphosate Injury Alfalfa1-Stunting Have You seen this Injury Symptom in alfalfa? We need your help in understanding this crop injury
Have you seen this crop injury in your Roundup-Ready Field or conventionl field? If so, we want to hear from you. We are asking alfalfa growers everywhere to look for the following symptoms (below)...

Webmaster Email: jlcangemi@ucanr.edu