Madera County
University of California
Madera County

Serving Madera County

OFFICE HOURS

The UC Cooperative Extension Office Hours are 8:00am-5:00pm, Monday-Friday.  Closed 1:00-2:00pm for lunch.  Occasionally, there will be brief office closures for off-site meetings and events.  Please leave a brief reason for visiting on the sign-in sheet at the window during those visits.

Shannon Mueller, Ph.D., County Director Agronomic Crops Farm Advisor  (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7211 or (559) 241-7515 scmueller@ucanr.edu

Russell Hill, 4-H Advisor (559) 675-7204 rdhill@ucanr.edu

Laurie Fringer, 4-H Program Representative (559) 675-7879, Ext. 7202  llfringer@ucanr.edu

Scott Stoddard, Vegetable Crops & Limited Resource Farms Advisor (209) 385-7403  csstoddard@ucanr.edu  (UCCE-Merced Office)

Daniela Bruno, Dairy Advisor (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7211 dfbruno@ucanr.edu (Wednesday only)

Rebecca Ozeran, Livestock & Natural Resources Farm Advisor (559) 675-7879, Ext. 7211 rkozeran@ucanr.edu

Phoebe Gordon, Orchard Systems Advisor (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7209 pegordon@ucanr.edu

Karl Lund, Viticulture Advisor (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7205  ktlund@ucanr.edu

UC CalFresh Nutrition Program, (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7207

Denise Cuendett, Master Gardener Coordinator, (559) 675-7879 Ext. 7202 (Thursday only) (559) 241-7535 (Fresno) dhcuendett@ucanr.edu

Dr. Lynn M. Sosnoskie, Agronomy & Weed Science Advisor, (229) 326-2676  lmsosnoskie@ucanr.edu  (UCCE-Merced Office)

 

We apologize for any inconveniences that may arise.

Calendar

Event Name
Date

Make a Gift Online

Madera County Programs

4-H Youth Development

Organizes, administers, directs and coordinates youth programs in cooperation with Madera County 4-H adult volunteer leaders. Programs are designed to meet the needs and interest of youth 9 to 19 years of age. Focus is on responsibility and leadership development.

Agronomic Crops

Provides extension education and research programs in alfalfa, cereal grains and corn. Provides weed identification and programs for efficient weed control.

Dairy 

Dairy productivity and product quality, as well as complex issues of animal health and welfare, waste management, and water quality.

Livestock and Natural Resources

Providing professional research and advice to support range livestock producers and rangeland managers.

Master Gardeners

Their mission is to extend research based knowledge and information on home horticulture, pest management, and sustainable landscape to the residents of Madera County. 

Pomology

Practical advice and problem solving for fruit and nut producers.

Vegetable Crops

Provides educational information to vegetable crop producers in Madera County. Conducts research programs in tomatoes, melons, garlic and other vegetables. Serves Madera and Merced Counties.

Viticulture

Disseminates research based information from University, industry and private research to growers, processors and packers of grapes and grape products. Provides diagnosis of permanent crop plant diseases.

ANR Blogs

Harvesting insecticide trials for weevil control in alfalfa, Yolo County, UCCE, 2018. New restrictions for chlorpyrifos (e.g. Lorsban) use in alfalfa in California
An important change has come to California insect management tools and strategies for alfalfa and other crops. As of January 1, 2019, new restrictions on the use of chlorpyrifos (e.g., Lorsban and...

Seedling Groundsel Keep Common Groundsel Uncommon!
As you're thinking about winter weed management in alfalfa production, keep in mind the need for common groundsel control. Groundsel (Senecio vulgaris) is highly toxic to livestock at all growth...

Hairy Fleabane A Pain in the Asteraceae - Identifying Important Winter Weeds in Alfalfa
The first step in developing a successful weed management program is being able to properly identify the species that are infesting a field. But why? Why is weed identification so important? Simply...

Webmaster Email: jlcangemi@ucanr.edu